top of page

Michigan Tax Relief

Updated: May 28

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has announced tax relief measures aimed at aiding individuals and businesses in Michigan who were impacted by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding starting from August 24, 2023. Taxpayers in the affected regions, which encompass Eaton, Ingham, Ionia, Kent, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, and Wayne counties, now have until June 17, 2024, to fulfill various federal individual and business tax obligations, including filing tax returns and making payments. This initiative extends to any area designated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), ensuring that those residing or conducting business in these localities qualify for the provided tax relief.

Furthermore, the IRS has committed to extending the same assistance to additional Michigan localities that may be included in the disaster area later. There is a list of eligible localities on the disaster relief page on The tax relief postpones various tax filing and payment deadlines that occurred from Aug. 24, 2023, through June 17, 2024 (postponement period). As a result, affected individuals and businesses will have until June 17, 2024, to file returns and pay any taxes that were originally due during this period. 


3 views0 comments


bottom of page